The Reykjavik City Children‘s Literature Prize


The Reykjavik City Children‘s Literature Prize was established in 1973. From the start, both books written in Icelandic and translated ones have been awarded.

The first winners of the prize were the writers and couple Jenna and Hreidar Stefánsson for their contribution to Icelandic children‘s literature and Steinunn Briem for her translation of Tove Jansson‘s novel Eyjan hans Múmínpabba (Pappan och havet or Moominpappa at Sea). 

From 2016, the Reykjavik City Children's Literature Prize and the Dimmalimm Illustration Prize, also hosted by the City of Reykjavik, merged into one prize handed out in three categories: books written in Icelandic; translated books; illustrations in childen's books.

See a list of awarded books from the start here on our website.