Iceland Writers Retreat

The Iceland Writers Retreat will take place for the 6th time April 3-7 2019. It features numerous small-group writing workshops led by renowned authors from around the world.

Over the course of the retreat, each participant is enrolled in a total of five two-hour small-group writing workshops led by internationally acclaimed authors, a Q&A panel with all faculty, and numerous readings and social functions.

Icelandic and International Authors

The Featured Authors leading the workshops this year are NYT best selling author Ann Hood, Man Booker prize finalist Chigozie Obioma, Commonwealth Writer's Prize winner Louis de Bernières, creative writing professor and award winning author Sarah Moss, Icelandic Literature Prize nominee Ragnar Helgi Ólafsson, bestselling author and journalist Elizabeth Renzetti, Hilary Weston Rogers Trust prize nominee Ivan Coyote, Chilean writer and scholar Lina Meruane, Harvard University lecturer Paul Yoon, Commonwealth Writer's Prize nominee Priya Basil and Windham Campell prize winner Tessa Hadley.

The participants will also meet the Icelandic authors Auður Jónsdóttir, Alda Sigmarsdóttir, Dagur Hjartarson, Sigurlín Bjarney Gísladóttir and Lilja Nótt Þórarinsdóttir, and visit literary sites such as Gljúfrasteinn, the home of Nobel Prize winner Halldór Laxness that is now a museum dedicated to his work.

Public Reading in English

The featured authors will be participating in a public reading event at the Nordic House in Reykjavik the day before the IWR begins, Tuesday April 2 at 8 pm.

The reading is free and open to all. The Featured Authors reading are: Ann Hood, Chigozie Obioma, Louis de Bernières, Sarah Moss, Ragnar Helgi Ólafsson, Elizabeth Renzetti, Ivan Coyote, Lina Meruane, Paul Yoon, Priya Basil and Tessa Hadley.

Moderated by Egill Helgason. The event will be in English.